Comeback Kid

I chose one of The Band Perry’s new songs as the title for this post, because I definitely identify with it, especially the following line: “I don’t think I deserve the hurt I get.” But then, most people don’t.

I’m going to be reworking my blog. It used to be mostly centered on my service dog, Honey. Don’t worry she’ll still be making appearances! In fact, she’s lying in my lap as I’m writing this. She truly is my best friend, but I digress…

I’m going to focus on my writing, both fiction and nonfiction. An upcoming post is about that black mask that’s gone viral. When I was younger, I was regularly featured on Lovelyish, a website covering fashion, beauty, and pop culture.

I was first officially published at 15, when I worked on my high school’s magazine. That might not sound like much, but the Foxfire Magazine is a national magazine. Produced in Rabun County, Georgia, The Foxfire Magazine is dedicated to keeping the history of Appalachia alive.

I hope to one day have some of my fiction published. If I can ever focus on one story long enough to finish it, that is!


One of my Facebook friends who’s accomplished and connected in the writing world suggested I start a blog to let my future readers get to know me and my writing style now, so that I’ll have a fan base when I am published. I’ve sent her a collection of my unfinished manuscripts, and am currently awaiting feedback.

Why writing? Writing is my passion. It has been my favorite thing to do since I was a kid. I wrote my first real story when I was 12. It was about a group of friends that literally get sucked into a video game. Looking back now, thats all I remember about that one. Unfortunately, I don’t have a copy of it, so I guess their fate will always be a mystery.

Writing consumes my thoughts, and a lot of my daydreaming is brainstorming plot ideas. I write varying genres, but almost all are covered under New Adult. I love everything paranormal/supernatural, but I also write “normal” stuff like chick-lit.

I should probably tell you more about myself. I’m 27 years old. I’m a music and animal lover. I’ve had a rough life, hence my PTSD service dog.

I am a chionophile, which means I love the cold, especially snow! I even call myself the “ice queen.” I currently live in Tennessee, but I dream of living in Colorado or Alaska and traveling to Nordic places like Norway and Iceland.

I think puns are greatly underrated. I love intelligent and witty TV shows. Gilmore Girls is a favorite! I also like oddball comedies like Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt. Most everything I watch is comedy, since I don’t like shows that make you sad. I really wish someone would come up with a sitcom about a vampire. A show that makes fun of itself. Everything with vampires in it is always so dramatic. Hmm…maybe I have another writing project now!

I feel weird talking about myself so much. Plus if I tell you everything now, then you won’t need to come back to my blog to get to know me. Gotta leave a little mystery, right?

Until next time!

– Jessi

Leave a Reply

